Guides: Article, Journal, &amp; Database Searching: Browser Extensions for Academic Research

Browser Extensions for Academic Research

The internet and browsers are the places most of you will start your research journey.

Do you know there are some great browser extensions that help you with finding and accessing academic resources?

A LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that provides instant full-text links to articles purchased by the library or open-access sources. It is currently available in Chrome, Firefox, Edge, Brave, Vivaldi, and Safari and works across thousands of publisher websites as well as Web of Science, PubMed, and Wikipedia. To use LibKey Nomad download the extension through Google Chrome, MacOS or Firefox.

How to add LibKey Nomad Browser Extension:

Choose any browser Google Chrome, MacOS or Firefox to download LibKey Nomad Browser.
Click on "Add to Chrome".

3. In Libkey Nomad webpage select " University of Calgary" as your organization and then close the window.

4. The Libkey Nomad icon is now available as an extension

How to use Libkey Nomad to Access Articles

Find an article to read.
The Libkey Nomad download button will appear on the article page to download the PDF as seen in the image below.

Lean Library

The Lean Library browser extension is a free tool that allows you to access full-text content from anywhere, without visiting the Library. It simplifies connecting to digital study materials on demand when you need them. Lean Library will prompt to sign in when accessing an e-resource the library has access to. Lean Library will inform whether the electronic resource is currently viewing available on another website.

How to add Lean Library Browser Extension:

Choose any browser Google Chrome, MacOS or Edge to download Lean Library Browser.
Click on "Add to Chrome".

3. In Lean Library webpage select " University of Calgary" as your organization and click save.

Zotero connector

Zotero Connector is a browser extension that creates a bibliographic library with rich metadata. The browser is enhanced with a button that allows saving items with a single click. Zotero has features like organize your way, cite in style, stay in sync and collaborate freely. Zotero Connector is available for Firefox, Chrome and Safari.

How to add Zotero Connector:

Choose any browser Google Chrome, Safari or Firefox to download Zetero Connector.
Click on "Add to Chrome".

3. Below is the Zotero Connector library image.

Watch Zotero tutorials below to learn more about Zotero

Reference

Meet Zotero. Retrieved from https://www.zotero.org/

Google Scholar button

The Google Scholar button extension's free browser allows users to search for the full-text version of highlighted article titles, switch directly from Google to Google Scholar search results, and create article citations in various formats.

Google Scholar button offers the following features:

Find full text on the web or in your university library.
Format references in widely used citation styles.
Transfer your query from web search to Scholar.

How to add the Google Scholar button extension:

Choose Google Chrome to download Google Scholar Button.
Click on "Add to Chrome".

3. Google Scholar button extension image of articles searching

Wayback Machine - Internet Archive

The Internet Archive’s Wayback Machine created a browser extension for Google Chrome to find the missing web pages that no longer exist. When you reach a missing page (the dreaded 404 error page), the Wayback Machine Chrome extension gives a link to the latest archived version of that page.

How to add Wayback Machine extension:

Choose Google Chrome to download Wayback Machine extension
Click on "Add to Chrome".
Wayback Machine webpage.