Apps & Mobile Resources
Nursing apps
Medscape
With the Medscape app you can:
- Visually identify drugs, over-the-counter (OTC), and supplements with the Pill Identifier Tool
- Quickly look up medications and dosages with the Drug Reference Tool
- Avoid adverse drug combinations with the Drug Interaction Checker
- Stay current with the latest medical news and earn Continuing Medical Education (CME) points -- all in one place
- Share and discuss clinical cases through the Consult Community
- Other useful resources within the app are: Step-by-Step Procedural Articles, Medical Calculators, Image Collections, Formulary Information, and more!
The Medscape app is free to use. Log-in is required the first time you use the Medscape app.
Nursing Reference Center (NRC) Plus
With the NRC app you get access to :
- NRC Plus content offline
- Information about diseases and conditions
- Evidence-based care sheets
- Content on nursing best practices and skills
- Robust drug information
- Videos and images to aid in patient care
PubMed for Handhelds
PubMed for Handhelds (PubMed4Hh pubmedhh.nlm.nih.gov, go.usa.gov/xFb) is an app for discovering relevant health information at the National Library of Medicine. Journal abstracts, TBLs ("the bottom line" summaries) and full text articles (requires subscription to journals) can be accessed anywhere the Internet is available. It features:
- PICO (Patient, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome): search with a well-formulated clinical query
- askMEDLINE: a free-text, natural language search tool
- Consensus Abstracts: for discovering and selecting concurring abstracts from journals. View selected TBLs and Abstracts in one page
- CQs: Use Clinical Queries to search journal articles. Indicate Category (therapy, diagnosis, etiology, prognosis, clinical predictions guideline) and Emphasis (specific, sensitive) to focus search strategy.
- Archive: save search results for reading later
- Retrieved citations may be sent by e-mail from any of the featured tools
Clinical Key
Clinicalkey provides rapid access to peer-reviewed scientific evidence for clinicians to improve the quality of diagnosis and treatment, thereby improving the quality of patient care and lowering health care costs.ClinicalKey Mobile is only accessible through the library's database page. To use ClinicalKey Mobile, you must first register an account on the ClinicalKey website. Fill out the required fields and then sign up for the app.
AccessMedicine
Medical experts from AccessMedicine provide a wide spectrum of information on a variety of topics. Medical students and residents can access videos, self-assessments, and leading medical textbooks through this resource to ensure success in basic science studies and clerkships, while nursing practitioners and physician assistants can brush up on their knowledge to ensure the best patient outcomes.
DynaMed
The DynaMed App, which was created by clinicians for use primarily at the point-of-care which is updated every day and monitors the content of over 500 medical journals and systematic review databases. DynaMed is a medical database that contains the most up-to-date evidence-based information.
EBSCOhost
EBSCOhost is a library database aggregator that includes CINAHL, which includes nursing and allied health literature. Locate and connect to the library, then search, choose, and use the content that is available there.
RxTx
CPS Full Access includes cross-referenced drug tables and algorithms, as well as the most up-to-date, evidence-based therapeutic information and non-prescription treatment options for the most common ailments. This includes CPS Drug Information, as well as vital updates such as warnings, advisories, and drug shortages, as well as useful tools such as medical calculators, Clin-Info, Pill Identifier, and Lexi-Interact drug interaction checker.
VisualDX
A clinician-designed diagnostic decision support system to assist medical practitioners in the diagnosis of visually detectable disorders. VisualDX combines medical imagery with concise clinical text to provide fast access to specialized information at the point of service. The application contains over 18,000 images of diseases, drug reactions, and infections. VisualDx produces a visual differential diagnosis as the practitioner adds particular patient findings.
Skyscape
The Skyscape Medical Library provides trusted medical information and decision-support tool for physicians, nurses, students and other health professionals. This medical library contains over 400 resources and titles from leading authors, medical societies, and publishers.